The best homemade chicken fried rice

I don’t know about all of you, but I seriously love chicken fried rice. Occasionally I’ll go for some orange chicken, fried dumplings, pork fried rice…The list goes on.

Anyway-I had made some garlic brown sugar chicken and mashed potatoes for dinner and it wasn’t what I was expecting. It wasn’t bad! Don’t get me wrong..It just wasn’t as good as the tangy honey chicken I had made (read “Food” for that recipe). I had some left over and was craving chicken fried rice (as usual-I could eat it every day), but I didn’t want to go and buy some so I searched up a recipe.

I already had all of the ingredients, which always makes it easier, and that included the chicken. It had been sitting in the fridge a couple days so some of the baste soaked into the chicken making the flavor sink in more.

Here is the chicken recipe I used: Baked Garlic Brown Sugar Chicken
Ingredients: 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts 4 garlic cloves, minced 4 tblspoon brown sugar 3 teaspoons olive oil Instructions: Preheat oven to 500°F and lightly grease a casserole dish. In small sauté pan, sauté garlic with the oil until tender. Remove from heat and stir in brown sugar. Place chicken breasts in a prepared baking dish and cover with the garlic and brown sugar mixture. Add salt and pepper to taste. Bake uncovered for 15-30 minutes.

This is a great chicken to use for fried rice because it’s a great mixture of sweet and garlic.

For the rice I only used 2 chicken breast’ instead of 4. Believe me, it was plenty.

I like to leave it in the fridge over night so that the juice soaks into the chicken. Then the day of I chop it up.

20140826_113500

As all fried rice recipes will tell you, you need to cook the rice before hand and add it in cold. I like to do this the day of so that it isn’t super hard and you don’t have to used as much soy sauce. To each his own, though.

20140826_115748

I also, as well as Peter, really like tomatoes and usually you use tomato in a thai fried rice and I actually tend to like that recipe better..So I added those in. While the rice was cooking I went ahead and chopped that up, as well as some for a garnish.

20140826_114400

 

Now the recipe I used for the  fried rice calls for onion, but you can really use whatever you want in this rice as long as you follow the basic instructions. The first time I cooked this I used just peas and carrots, but this time I added in soy beans and greens beans. Not my favorite…But I’m just picky.

Here is the recipe: Chinese Chicken Fried Rice
http://allrecipes.com/recipe/chinese-chicken-fried-rice-ii/detail.aspx

Once the rice was hot I added the diced tomatoes and stirred them in.

Just as a note-I almost tripled this recipe. So instead of 2 cups of (cooked) white rice I used 5. (I put in 3 cups of rice to cook so I had a lot left over)
It works out, though because I ended up with a lot of left overs and I didn’t end up with too much cooked white rice I had no use for.
Tip-make sure to use a deep pan if you are doing such a large quantity. It keeps the kitchen from ending up in such a disaster. And if you’re anything like me, I think the cleaning is the worst part (well duh, cause the eating is the best!)

Yummmmm

20140826_170041

 

Here’s to chicken fried rice and much more home cooking!

20140826_171207

 

