Food

So I decided (so my facebook friends don’t get flooded with photos all the time) that I’m going to make this blog more about food.
I’ll still be posting about random things you probably don’t care about…But that’s what almost everyone’s blog is about, right? Or what you think people will care about, I suppose.

Anyway, since I’ve been married (what…almost two months? ish?) I’ve been making dinner for the husband. Really-the reason I like it so much is mostly because I love food, but also because he loves food and is always appreciative.

So let’s start with pasta:

Italian Sausage Bow Tie Pasta

Italian Sausage Bow Tie Pasta

This recipe is awesome.
It’s actually quite easy to make and the italian sausage really adds a great flavor. You could even use a spicier sausage since this pasta is kind of sweet.

Here’s the recipe: http://sayyes.com/2013/09/dinner-in-25-minutes-bow-tie-pasta-with-sausage-and-sweet-peppers.html

Ok this one isn’t really a recipe and doesn’t really require a lot of cooking skills other than knowing how to use a toaster: English Muffin

Toasted English muffin with Nutella and Peanut butter.

Toasted English muffin with Nutella and Peanut butter.

All I have to say is: Yum!

Next we come to juice:

Plum juice on the right, pulp on the left.

Plum juice on the right, pulp on the left.

Again-no recipe other than a juicer.
I was going to make jam out of the pulp, but I didn’t have the supplies or the motivation (plums are messy!). I waited until the juice separated and scooped out the stuff on top. Add a spoon of sugar (or until your tasted buds don’t scream at you anymore from how tart it is) and you’re good to go. It was super yummy.

Now we come to something my husband made: sandwich

Turkey schnitzel sandwich with tomato, mustard, and mayo.

Turkey schnitzel sandwich with tomato, mustard, and mayo.

You can also make it with coleslaw (personally..I hate that stuff, but you can like it 😉 )
and mayo. I don’t have the recipe since it came out of a book. But I do know you pound the heck out of the meat, bread it, and fry it. Voila! It was really tasty.

Mexican food:

Enchiladas with homemade sauce and homemade chili filling

Enchiladas with homemade sauce and homemade chili filling

This one is more complicated. Basically I had made a chili for dinner and it ended up being super bland. However it tasted really good in burritos. I ended up finding a recipe for enchilada sauce (better than any canned sauce I’ve had),putting the chili, refried beans, and cheese inside..Rolled it up, put it in a pan, spread the sauce and cheese on top and cooked it for about 20 or so minutes at 350. Or until hot in the middle.

Here is the recipe for the chili: http://www.iheartnaptime.net/easy-3-ingredient-chili/

and the enchilada sauce: http://www.thegardengrazer.com/2013/05/enchilada-sauce.html

Soup!

Lasagna soup

Lasagna soup

This was really easy to make. Really you just put everything in a pot to cook until done. It tasted just like lasagna. I used a no boil noodle so that it wouldn’t take as long and that turned out really well.

Here’s the recipe:http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=207220

Meat and potatoes:

Garlic and parsley mashed potatoes and tangy honey basted chicken

Garlic and parsley mashed potatoes and tangy honey basted chicken

This one was awesome. We used the baste for gravy and it tasted really great. The recipe was pretty easy and we ended up with some really good leftovers (as usual).

I just did what I wanted with the potatoes. But basically heat water, wash, skin and cut up potatoes and boil until soft. I used my new kitchen aid to whip them up and added lactose free milk, salt, pepper, and garlic parsley powder.

Here is the chicken recipe: *4 Boneless skinless chicken breasts *1/3 Cup Butter, melted *1/3 Cup Honey *2 Tbsp mustard *1 tsp salt *Preheat oven to 350° *Combine butter, honey, mustard & salt *Pour over chicken *Bake 1 hour to a minimum internal temp of 165° *Baste every 15 min while baking.

I ended up making an extra batch of the baste to put on while it was cooking, but you can just use what is in the pan. Up to you!

More sandwich and potato:

Cheesy bagel with Pastrami and tomato and homemade potato wedges

Cheesy bagel with Pastrami and tomato and homemade potato wedges

I had to toast the bagel in the oven cause it was too fluffy for the toaster (found that out the hard way). My husband used mayo and mustard and who knows what else on his sandwich, but I just did butter, tomato and pastrami.

If you can’t tell yet-I LOVE potatoes. So I decided to make my own potato wedges. It’s nice cause you can control the amount of oil and salt and such. Plus they aren’t fried.They were SO GOOD.

Here’s the recipe. http://www.kissrecipe.com/2013/07/oven-baked-potato-wedges.html

I made a couple batches and did one with Parmesan cheese and one without. I couldn’t really tell the difference. I also had ranch dipping sauce-That was amazing. The spices on the potato really make it good to eat plain or with a dip.

That’s all for now I suppose! If you like cooking you should definitely make this.

I’m hoping to try out the crock pot soon. Wish me luck and happy cooking!

