100 Days Until Marriage

March 13th-100 days until I get married!

March 13th-100 days until I get married!

I’ve been engaged for 437 days. And my advice to you? Don’t wait so long…If you can help it.

And by the way-wanting more time to plan the wedding is NOT an excuse.

I had, and still have, every reason to marry Peter. When he got down on one knee and asked me to be his wife I said yes, very loudly, and I meant it.

So why did we wait?

Most believe that we are waiting because a family member was getting married or that I had other members of my family pushing me, for what I believe their own selfish reason, to wait longer. That isn’t it.

You probably won’t believe me, but there was only one reason; I wanted to finish school. Getting married was a big enough push to get me to finish what I had started. I was 7 classes away from finishing my associates degree and I had been coming up with reason upon reason to not go back.

When I get married I want to be married. I don’t want to waste my time, and money, on something I didn’t care about..Plus I know myself enough that if I got married and moved away I wouldn’t finish it and I would be really disappointed in myself.

I’m not saying that school isn’t important and you shouldn’t do it, because it is, I’ve just never been passionate about it. Sure, if one day I have an epiphany and decide to go back to school for something, I will…But until then I don’t think there is a point in spending money to figure out what I want to do.

Don’t worry, I’m not naive enough to think that marriage will fix everything or that it will be the easiest thing I will ever do. I’m positive it will be the hardest and best thing I will ever do.

I’m not sure if this long engagement thing would be easier or harder if we lived closer together. As Christians, Peter and I believed that it was right to wait until after marriage to sleep, and live, together. So let’s be honest here…Being engaged for a long time is freaking hard. I’m so happy to wait for this though. Of course, I’m looking forward to SO many things when it comes to getting married and part of that is growing together and glorifying God in our relationship. Glorifying God is what we were created for, and God commands us to wait.

1 Corinthians 10:31 “Whether, then, you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”

This last year or so has been really hard for the one reason I just mentioned, and so many others. I only get to see Pete on the weekends because of our work schedule and on the rare week night we’re able to meet in the middle somewhere. I have to keep telling myself to take things one day at a time and the time will fly by. And believe me, it truly has. I only have a few months left and I have so much to plan. Not just for the wedding (cause that only lasts one day), but for my life with the man I love.

I thank God every day for bringing him into my life and I will try really…really hard to enjoy these 100 days I have left with my family and friends. I can do it!

As for other countdowns-I have 5 days until this term is over and I graduate with my AAOT. YES!

All of that being said-I hope it didn’t sound like a long drawn out complaint, because that wasn’t my intent..Just musings. 🙂

Thanks for reading. And sorry for all the mushy love stuff. Haha

Until next time!

1 Comment

  1. Great post. I agree that marriage is the hardest and best thing that we do in this life. Best of luck to you on both your graduation and marriage!

Leave a Reply

