Cooped Up

Portland weather is completely unpredictable. This weekend has been awful.

What happened to when I was a kid and would go out in the snow and play for days? When things being cancelled was exciting and a relief? What happened to not caring about how cold it is or how icy the roads are?

Oh yeah-I grew up and got a job and a fiance.

Last week started off super busy with the last of my trainings and trying to get the lesson schedule done at work and then Thursday hit us with a big snow storm that left us stuck in the house until this afternoon and they skill cancelled school. It took me a half hour to dig my car (Penny) out of the driveway.

Saturday I got so sick of being in the house I decided to walk to the store and ended up carrying two cans of chili, a jug of milk, and hot dogs in a bag all the way back. Not the smartest idea I’ve ever had-but that’s alright.

I wouldn’t mind getting an unexpected weekend off from work and everything if it didn’t mean I couldn’t go anywhere. Sunday Portland issued a warning to not go outside because of the icy conditions.

You central states and maybe eastern states may laugh at our whining over here-but not only were we completely unprepared, but it isn’t the same here as it is everywhere else. Plus the ice makes it hard for anyone.

But with that being said-I’ll be the first to admit that some people here make a bigger deal out of it than there really needs to be, plus there are some terrible drivers here. Some people tend to be overly confident and that ends them in an accident.

Onto the challenge.

February 4th-I got Peter's ring not too long ago. I waited to post it because he didn't know I had gotten in yet.  Sorry-No picture yet, just a teaser! But it's perfect.

February 4th-I got Peter’s ring not too long ago. I waited to post it because he didn’t know I had gotten in yet.
Sorry-No picture yet, just a teaser! But it’s perfect.

Wedding plans are moving along nicely. I’m trying really hard to get the majority, if not all, of the planning done ASAP so I don’t have to stress and worry too much later.

February 5th-My morning meal for those 5am shifts.

February 5th-My morning meal for those 5am shifts.

Instant oatmeal is seriously my life saver. I have a bad habit of not eating most of the day. This has kept me from doing that too much. 🙂

 

February 6th-I got the school and needed a drink of water. Only then did I realize the water had been completely frozen while in my car over night.

February 6th-I got the school and needed a drink of water. Only then did I realize the water had been completely frozen while in my car over night.

And so starts the snow storm.

February 7th-I was not happy to wake up to this. I wasn't too upset about the day off-but I didn't know it'd be the WHOLE weekend.

February 7th-I was not happy to wake up to this. I wasn’t too upset about the day off-but I didn’t know it’d be the WHOLE weekend.

This was just the beginning.

February 8th-Everything iced over just on time for my nieces 8th birthday party. Poor thing had to cancel her big plans and not as many people turned up. I'm glad we made it though.

February 8th-Everything iced over just on time for my nieces 8th birthday party. Poor thing had to cancel her big plans and not as many people turned up. I’m glad we made it though.

February 9th-this is what we got on Sunday morning. Everything was cancelled.

February 9th-This is what we got on Sunday morning. Everything was cancelled.

The ice ruined the weekend for sure. No visit with the fiance. The realization brought on some crying on my part for sure. Ha

February 10th-A box of letters I've collected since I was 8 (I even found a card from when I was born).

February 10th-A box of letters I’ve collected since I was 8 (I even found a card from when I was born).

All the negativity aside..There is one good thing to say about being cooped up-I got a LOT of cleaning and organizing done this weekend. I threw away a lot of stuff I didn’t need. There’s always more to do, but I’m glad I got done what I did.

Crazy part was I threw away a white garbage bag full of home work I’ve had since freshman year of high school. Crazy.

Well I’m sorry about the late post-I hope you all enjoyed your weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

