How to Make Your Own Cake Stand (DIY)

When I was talking to the person I am having make my cake she asked me if I had a cake stand because I’m not planning on having a very big cake which could make it easy for it to get lost. I checked on Etsy and although I found some really great cake stands I was not willing to spend $75-$160 on a cake stand I’ll probably use just for my wedding…And maybe a few times after that.

I can’t take full credit for this idea (although I was trying to figure out a way to make it), but I decided to go to Goodwill and buy a candle stick holder and a glass plate and glue them together.

So here we go!

Supplies:

Glass Epoxy (more permanent) or Hot glue

Candle stick holder

Glass plate

Patience

You can get glue that is also used for fish tanks. It's more permanent, and also water proof.

You can get glue that is also used for fish tanks. It’s more permanent, and also water proof.

First you want to wash the candle stick holder and plate-Especially if it’s from Goodwill! Then dry (duh).

It can be as fancy as you want of course or you could go with a colored plate...just be careful because if the design pops out it makes it hard to keep the plate flat on the candle stick.

It can be as fancy as you want of course or you could go with a colored plate…just be careful because if the design pops out it makes it hard to keep the plate flat on the candle stick.

Put the glue on the rim of the candle stick holder. Try to make it even, but it's not a huge deal as long as the rim is covered. Keep in mind it will spread when the plate is placed on top.

Put the glue on the rim of the candle stick holder. Try to make it even, but it’s not a huge deal as long as the rim is covered. Keep in mind it will spread when the plate is placed on top.

Carefully place the plate on top and press firmly and evenly.

Carefully place the plate on top and press firmly and evenly.

You will need to let it cure for 24 hours. I added glue to it after it was mostly dry just to be sure.

You will need to let it cure for 24 hours.
I added glue to it after it was mostly dry just to be sure.

See? Super easy! And it only cost about $10 and about $5 for the glue. But depending on the plate and holder you get you could probably do it for WAY cheaper.

You can also spray paint it if you want. The sky is the limit on this one. 🙂

I can’t wait to use this for my wedding, and since I used the epoxy-hopefully many more times. 😀

Leave a Reply

